Still in Israel

I was originally scheduled to leave Israel yesterday, Monday, at 9:20 PM. I decided on Sunday, though, that I wasn’t quite ready to return to life in the village, and postponed my flight until the following Sunday.

Usually when I come to Israel, it seems like a terribly disorganized and uncivilized place, because I am coming from the US. This time, though, coming from India, it seems like Israelis have suddenly learned some manners. It’s amazing what a little perspective can do. I’m going to be spending a lot of the time I have left here working on my medical school applications, but I will also relish my time left in this relatively ordered country. I have taken some pictures while I’ve been here, and I below I have uploaded some that I think help to demonstrate this point.

 

Who knew Israelis use crosswalks?

Who knew Israelis use crosswalks?

 

Check out all those cars and busses waiting nicely at the stop light!

Check out all those cars and busses waiting nicely at the stop light!

 

My favorite thing about Israel compared to India? I have yet to walk into a bathroom in Israel without toilet paper.

My favorite thing about Israel compared to India? I have yet to walk into a bathroom in Israel without toilet paper.

Not only do Israelis use toilet paper, but apparently, they really like toilet paper holders.  At the very least, artists who showcase and sell their work at the Nachalat Binyamin market in Tel Aviv like to make toilet paper holders.  Below is a photo montage of the toilet paper holders I saw being sold in the market.

tp-2tp-3
tp-4tp-5tp-6tp-7tp-8tp-9tp-10tp-11tp-12

6 Responses

  1. hey! i saw yo today and she said she got to play with you lots while she was in israel. i’m jealous…
    i owe you a phone call — i’ll try you on thursday!

  2. funny…my bathroom in my apartment in jerusalem last year didn’t even have a paper towel holder! just another reason that i really should have made it to nachalat binyamin.

  3. Oh, in my experience Israelis are shockingly anal about crosswalks. I’ve gotten so many strange looks from Israelis, not just for jaywalking, but for crossing at the crosswalk against the light even when no cars are coming!

    My best guess is this has something to do with the quality of Israeli driving…

    I wish I was hanging out in Israel now, that would be awesome….enjoy it, and good luck with the apps! We should talk soon, it’s been a while!

  4. The toilet paper holders!!! I was waiting for them to make it onto your blog. That selection was really astounding.

  5. those are sooo cool – i want one!

  6. […] really nice Judaica from the Nachalat Binyamin crafts market in Tel Aviv, which we traversed multiple times with Talya B (don’t miss her pictures of the sheer mass of artistic toilet paper holders) […]

Leave a Reply

