Here I Go

Here I go, back to India.  It’s unclear if this is a good idea or not, but I’ll figure it out once I get there, I guess.  There are some things about Israel that I will definitely miss.

  • Toilet Paper.  Toilet Paper.  Toilet Paper.
  • Delicious and plentiful kosher food.  I might have to get some McDonalds or Burger King in the airport before I go back to my vegetarian lifestyle.
  • Seeing my friends and family.  My dad came to meet me in Israel, so I got to see him, as well as my grandfather and aunt and cousins who live in Israel.  And I got to see a bunch of friends from Harvard and other walks of life.  I was going to give a shoutout to each of you individually, but then I got worried that I would leave someone out.  But it was great to see all of you!  And I was hosted most graciously by Tova and her three fun-loving daughters.
  • Shopping.  I actually didn’t buy so much in Israel, but I definitely took advantage of the varied fruits and vegetables available in the spring in Israel.
  • Cooking.  I’m bringing massive amounts of yeast back to India with me, so I have to make a challah before I leave.
  • Speaking Hebrew.  I like Hebrew.  And I know a lot more Hebrew than Tamil.
  • A super-comfy bed with a real mattress.
  • Fast internet.  Oh Wi-Fi, how I shall miss thee.  But since I still have it, I’ll upload a picture for good measure.  I have a bunch more pretty ones from Israel, but unfortunately I wasn’t organized enough to take them off of my camera.
  • I almost forgot a really important one: JEWS!

 

Me and Seth and Jackie in Nachalat Binyamin in Tel Aviv

Me and Seth and Jackie in Nachalat Binyamin in Tel Aviv

I’m bringing lots of games and books and movies (on my external hard drive) so hopefully I will have lots to do in the village during the quieter times.  Next post from India!

5 Responses

  1. go talya go! you’re awesomely amazing!

  2. muah talita.

  3. Safe travels!

  4. Hi Talya:
    I am so enjoying reading about you in India. I am amazed by your stories and experiences and your openness to what is around you–that which you like and that which you find challenging. What a terrific opportunity.

    Have you ever read Tracy Kidder’s book Mountain Beyond Mountain about Paul Farmer?
    Shoshanah

  5. […] from the Nachalat Binyamin crafts market in Tel Aviv, which we traversed multiple times with Talya B (don’t miss her pictures of the sheer mass of artistic toilet paper […]

Leave a Reply

